Hair?

6181   9   1
313 posts
I will beb donig a project about character animation. I am think about whether I will choose Houdini or Maya. The thing that I am concerned is “Hair”. Well, I am a maya user but I am a beginner in Houdini. I just want to know how people deal with Hair (dynamic) in Houdini. Can it achieve Maya 6's hair quality in terms of its dynamic simulation?
15 posts
From my poin of view:

As far as exist the hair solutions for houdini remain as inhouse developments in the studios - little bit slow, little bit buggy, little bit restrictive worklflow.

Seems that the Hair stuff in Maya is very good solution - kick-but hair-to-hair collisions, constraints, hair-to-geometry collisions, rest curves ( goals -startPosition, restPosition, currentPosition ) - very handy for modeling of curves and preanimating the dynamic simulation. The worklflow is very open and you are not forced to fallow it at all - just organize a new one, which will meet your needs better.
For example - attach the curves to nurbs geometry and style the hair as you want easily.

We can mimic part of this functionality in Houdini, but will need its time to be done.
212 posts
just curious, can you describe their “hair-to-hair” interaction?

From experience, that isn't an easy thing to do accurately.
-k
15 posts
The collisions are very accurate.
As far as i can remember the first thing i tried was to test the perHair collisions, because we already know few commercial products which totally suck in this area and i was worried that the dynamic curves are just another half baked solution.

Every dynamicCurveSolver has sampling attributes controling the collision quality, As mutch push them as precise is the simulation. It is fast. You can override the solver values on per follicle basis - local perHair control. I cant describe everything with few words. Here is not the right place to talk so mutch about Maya.
212 posts
I don't think is a bad thing, talking about their fur.