noisy sample refiltering w/Raytracing crushes volume alpha

1837   2   2
6 posts
Hey there

I'm kind of new to the Houdini forum, so please pardon my potential lack of etiquette!

I've been finding that rendering mantra volumes with noise sample refiltering (gaussian -w 2 -r 1) crushes the alpha of the volumes. The dark (less dense) areas seem to disappear completely in the alpha channel.

The issue occurs with raytracing or PBR, but goes away with Micropolygon Rendering.

Additionally, the problem goes away for raytracing, PBR, and Micropolygon Rendering when switching back to gaussian -w 3.

I'm not sure if this is a bug, or something that I should have just known about.

Any thoughts?

Best wishes

Jeff
1743 posts
splintersilk
I've been finding that rendering mantra volumes with noise sample refiltering (gaussian -w 2 -r 1) crushes the alpha of the volumes. The dark (less dense) areas seem to disappear completely in the alpha channel.
Drat. Any chance you could post an example or submit a bug?

Sadly, there were a few (unfortunately rather common) cases that I didn't get around to addressing with the noisy sample refiltering, regarding consistency of deciding which samples to refilter between adjacent pixels, especially if most of the samples are black and a few of the samples are bright, as is often the case with very indirect lighting.

As for alpha, I seem to recall that the refiltering couldn't be applied to it, else there were issues with getting alpha above and below 1 on opaque surfaces, though maybe it was just refiltered separately from r, g, and b. What you described doesn't sound like either of those, though, so it's quite likely a bug. :wink:

The issue occurs with raytracing or PBR, but goes away with Micropolygon Rendering.
Yeah, micropolygon probably has less / different noise to begin with, but doesn't end up with the same final results as raytracing / PBR in general.