Jet AfterBurner Effect

11500   5   3
3 posts
hello I'm very new to houdini and I'm trying to create a jet after burner effect similar to this video… https://vimeo.com/36661653 [vimeo.com] . the author of the video released his .hip file and I had a look at it. I noticed that houdini has changed alot from when he created the video. because he is using the old popnet and also he uses a node called vopsop which should be the equivalent to attribute vop now I think. his workflow is based on emitting particles and then using the copy to turn them to metalballs and then using an isooffset to turn them to a a volume after that I'm not sure how he renders the scene and how to get passes from render in houdini. also I've had a few pitfalls like I cant get the particles to collide with an object(in houdini 12 it was done differently). I also havent fully grasped the use of the vopsop (or attributeVop). coming from Maya its hard to get used to houdini. If anyone would be kind enough to guide me while I create this effect I would greatly appreciate it
Staff
2540 posts
How much has changed since H12…

I completely reworked the file with modern methods.

All illumination is via emission as it should be. No materials looping through lights. Both the flame and sparks are light emitters. See the volume and geometry light setup from shelf in the example file.

Used DOP networks in SOPs to replicate the old workflows for you with notes.

Replaced the objects with new objects to get the latest parameters.
Replaced the Mantra ROP with a new version as many parameters have changed. Biggest change for volumes is Volume Quality workflow now.

No look dev done to the file at all. It is raw and up to you to tweak to improve the look.

This is a decent file for anyone wanting to see how to move old POP workflows over to DOPs in H15 and beyond.

Attachments:
prelim_test_115.jpg (273.6 KB)
Thrusters_Test_Odforce_vH15.hip (3.2 MB)

There's at least one school like the old school!
51 posts