Creating HDA's att different levels

   2878   6   0
User Avatar
Member
1104 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
I am not sure if im getting this..but if I create a HDA at /OBJ level so it becomes /OBJ/Subnet I can then put a geo node and a shopnet inside that so I can have multiple materials.
But if I create the HDA from say /OBJ/geo level, meaning from inside a geo node, so the actual HDA is created from /OBJ/geo/Subnet I can still put a shopnet in the /OBJ/geo/subnet but Unreal wont understand multiple materials while the first solution it does.

That is all fine..unless I want to have a curve input, because the only way I've managed to create that is on the /OBJ/Geo/subnet, I am not sure how todo that with /OBJ/Subnet HDA's ..which as of now atleast, means I cant have curve inputs and multiple materials.

I am guessing I am missing something ? or is this a limitation in the current state of things ?
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
1104 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
Ended up using the custom “unreal_face_material” attribute, and im guessing it should be a string for a existing material in Unreal, so i typed in “M_Wood_Oak” which is a startermaterial and that didnt work, and I also tried “StarterContent/Materials/M_Wood_Oak” and that didnt work..but atleast I can assign 2 different not working material's so I then later in Unreal can assign them. It get's a bit booring when you have several copies of your HDA placed.

/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
You need to set the reference in that unreal_face_material string. Right click on the asset in UE content browser, click copy reference. Set that as an attribute value.
User Avatar
Member
1104 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
ttvdsfx
You need to set the reference in that unreal_face_material string. Right click on the asset in UE content browser, click copy reference. Set that as an attribute value.

And when you mean the asset in UE content browser, you mean the material in UE ? Just making sure

/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
I mean the material (or any material interface derived type, mics etc) uasset object in the Unreal content browser. Have a look at the attrib create node inside the attached asset.
Edited by ttvdsfx - June 21, 2016 09:29:50

Attachments:
unreal_material_instance.hda (14.7 KB)

User Avatar
Member
1104 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
Cool thanks I see now, tested with a regular material and that worked too. Just for future reference, are things like these documented somewhere ?

Edited by MagnusL3D - June 21, 2016 17:07:46
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
173 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
I think there are some tutorials that mention these. But there needs to be a better documentation, for sure.
  • Quick Links