Correctly Export Terrain Layers as Masks for UE4 Material LayerBlend

   2274   7   1
User Avatar
Member
26 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
Hello community, I have a couple of questions please, I have created a Terrain01.HDA with some layers:

- A mask layer to select a slope interval.
- The Erode node produces layers like: Bedrock, Water, Debris, etc.

I want to use those layers in the LayerBlend in UE4 Landscape material but once I import Terrain01.HDA in UE4 only 2
LayerInfo are created: bedrock, mask !!! what happened with the other layers??? how do I correctly export them??

also what if I want to create more than just one mask but: MASK1, MASK2, MASK3 etc , how can I create these layers in Houdini,so that they produce the LayerInfos correctly???

Thanks in advance….

Attachments:
TerrainHoudini.png (421.8 KB)
MaterialUnreal.png (668.1 KB)

User Avatar
Staff
213 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hi,

All layers present on the Heightfield in Houdini should be available as landscape layers when the HDA is imported in Unreal. There is, however, one exception to that:
If the layer/mask is “flat” (only one or no value), Unreal will just ignore it…

In your hda, the water and debris layer are not present because of this.
(it's certainly due to the fact that you're exporting the first frame of the erosion, you can use a timeshift node to export later frames in the hda)
Or, you can check this by adding noise to the missing layer, and they should be available in UE.

If you wanna create your own mask, mask2 etc.. you dont have anything special to do, they'll be converted to Landscape layers in UE4 if they contain information.

Let me know if you have other questions about that.
User Avatar
Member
26 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
The erosion node now exports correctly Thanks a lot dpernuit, as for the multiple separated masks question, what I don't understand is which node is used to create the name for the layers(or do I have to create them with Vex??)…
Edited by apaza610 - June 5, 2017 01:23:45

Attachments:
MultipleMasksQuestion.png (347.2 KB)

User Avatar
Staff
213 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hi,

You can use the “Heightfield Copy Layer” for that:

MaskByFeature will create data in “mask”, use copy Layer to copy its data to “MyMask1”
You can then use a second MaskByFeature to create new data in “Mask” (be sure to have its “combine with existing” parameter set to replace to ignore the previous data in Mask), which you can then copy to “MyMask2” with the copy layer node … etc..
User Avatar
Member
26 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
Thanks again dpernuit, that worked great and solves my questions, have a good day
User Avatar
Member
5 posts
Joined: Feb. 2018
Offline
Hi all
I just export the landscape into UE4 with all of the layers info, but I don't know how to make higher resolution of these layer mask

Attachments:
{4B886799-B31F-426C-86F6-20E181D8C1C5}.png (1.1 MB)

User Avatar
Staff
213 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hi,

In Houdini, the resolution of the layers/masks are tied to the resolution of the heightfield itself, so you probably wanna create a higher res heightfield in houdini.
User Avatar
Member
5 posts
Joined: Feb. 2018
Offline
Thank you . I Add the resample node and it looks better
  • Quick Links