What is the proper workflow to use Houdini 16.0/.5 and Substance Painter?

13637   5   5
9 posts
Hey folks, I need someone to shed some light on this subject for me. I also did a similar post in allegorithmic forum.

I'm studying what is the proper workflow to use when integrating Substance Painter and Houdini.

The first thing I found out is that allegorithmic has a plugin for Houdini, so I tried it a couple of weeks ago and I it just failed to show up inside SHOP network. I made a post in allegorithmic forum and got a response Oct 30, saying they had updated the plugin and it did work after that update BUT the big downside of it is that the plugin only reads SBAR files, that are only exported from Substance Designer and not Painter.

The solution was export from Substance Painter the texture maps with the PBR MetalRough configuration and inside Houdini I did the following:

Inside principal shader texture tab, plug: Base color; Roughness; Metallic.
Inside principal shader Bump & Normal tab, plug: Normal.
Inside principal shader Displacement tab, texture slot, plug: Heightmap.
*Adjusted the effect scale to 0.1*
Set Roughness to 1
Set Metallic to 1

That gave me most of what I was looking for, but the Metallic aspect of things did not quite match with my Substance Painter Iray look. Back to the forums I dug into this post
https://www.sidefx.com/forum/topic/48839/ [www.sidefx.com]
Where RobsDesign talks about some of the issues between Substance Painter and Houdini, but this post is from a Year ago and I don't know it the issue he reported still valid.

So I would love to know from someone more experienced:

WHAT IS THE PROPER WORKFLOW between Houdini and Substance Painter?
Am I doing the right way?

Last but not less important, I did some rendering with the settings I said earlier, got an EXR from it, did some color correction with After Effects, Shadown/highlight and Curves adjustments, and got an output that I'm happy with.