FBX Export Groups / Primitives as Separate Objects

19368   14   3
4 posts
Hi,

I'm quite new to Houdini and loving it. I have been using the GameDev tools and they're excellent. However, one thing I'm struggling with is this:

If I use GOZ (Zbrush) or import an FBX with polygon meshes in that are separate ‘objects’ in the FBX sense of the word (subtools in Zbrush speak), I can manipulate those ‘primitives’ as groups. However, when I use the ROP FBX Output node the geometry is all packed in to one FBX object. So for example, if I want one part of a mesh to stay separate so it can be animated in another package (have its own transform values) I can't use the Houdini FBX export because the geo is all one object.

Is there any advice anyone can give on how to keep my groups as separate FBX objects but in the same FBX file when I export from Houdini?

Many thanks!
4 posts
I'd love to know the answer to this one as well!
20 posts
I would like to know that as well.
2 posts
I think I figured out a sort-of workaround for this. You need to go via the Alembic output, which as an option to build the object hierarchy from a string attribute. What you need to do is the following:

1. Set up a string attribute on the primitive level. This string defines the path in the output file that the primitive will be placed in.
2. Create an Alembic output node. Doesn't matter if this is a ROP in the SOP context or the output context.
3. Turn on “Build hierarchy from attribute” and point it to the string attribute you set up in step 1.
4. Export.
5. Import the Alembic file and re-export it as FBX. This FBX export will preserve the attribute-driven hierarchy created.

See the attached screenshots. As you can see in the modo screenshot, the object names are preserved. Forward slashes means it creates a hierarchy of nulls. These nulls are presumably at world origin, so it might be difficult to use this for animation.

Attachments:
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 09.35.27.png (3.4 MB)