General workflow improvement suggestions concerning all H users

888   1   1
1755 posts
Hi all,
I have two workflow improvement suggestions which are addressing the same rubric: the way some nodes hold and make accessible to the user, elements or objects they work with (as inputs or whatever), which are a line with a long list of elements, sometimes accessible with a drop-down list.

The two types of nodes I'm having in mind are groups and nodes related to geometry capturing. There might other circumstances where this method is employed, but since I haven't got into dynamics and simulations, I'll address just these two that I have some experience with.

1.Groups - instead of or in addition to the long list line, a button that opens a geometry spreadsheet (GS) style window. Beside listing all the elements set by the group type, this windowed interface would have the ability to select an element and having it highlighted in the viewport. Also, the ability to add/remove to/from a group, similar to how you'd select objects and add them to the current bundle.
Of course this doesn't have to be a “different thing” - this button could simply open a GS window with the current group filter to show only the elements in the group, but the abilities described above have to be added to the current GS. The current way of adding or removing elements from that long list is, to be blunt, pure masochism.

2.Capture nodes and all other nodes that use bundles of objects (bones, regions, etc) as inputs

The same issue I have here - a line text with a long list of bones, like capturelayerpaint, capturemirror, bonecapturebiharmonic, etc, sometimes also accessible as a drop-down list.