Laptop for Houdini

7852   9   3
3 posts
Heyall !

Im an animator and currently work as a 3D modelling in a company in Ontario and I am thinking in purchasing a portable laptop 2in 1 for my own personal portfolio needs.

I’m currently looking at Surface Book 2 15in , i7 . GTX 1060 model

I’m hoping to work on making 3D visual effects in Houdini along with modelling , but I also intend on doing work in Harmony regarding 2D animation that’s why I’m looking for something that can double over as a tablet.

Any input and suggestions before I make the purchase would be amazing !

Thanks for the time out of your busy schedules
2035 posts
I have an i7 with 16GB of Ram.
GTX 980 4MB.

For modelling in Houdini, my system is perfectly fine.

However, when it comes to ‘special fx’ like sims, the 16GB makes it just enough to learn (as long as I keep my ambitions low);

But it's not possible to do what I consider studio level work.

I did a brief search on your model, from the one source it shows all 3 models only have 16 GB.

So unless your fx are going to be fairly simple, I think you might end up being frustrated.

For rendering, I noticed the article says the GTX 1060 has 6 MB…maybe someone can chime in on how good that might be if for rendering alone(not considering sims), if you went with Redshift.

But again, for modelling - perfectly fine.

EDIT: of course if ones going to model an entire city with lots of detail and without much instancing, etc….could make my system come to a crawl very quickly.
Edited by BabaJ - May 24, 2019 19:49:30
806 posts
Moin,

I use my Surface Book2 i7/16GB7GTX1060 for software development and occasional Houdini sessions. Cannot say much about Redshift's performance on the GTX, since I run my RS license on RTX2080 at home and don't really render “abroad”. However, I use RealityCapture frequently on the SB2 and can say that the 1060 is only insignificantly slower than the 1080 my client (in that context) uses. I would guess that RS runs smoothly.