Houdini rigged, animated model to play in Max

6924   9   2
5 posts
Hi everyone.

I am a good modeler, but a lousy animator.

I cannot locate a satisfactory answer for my question.

My needs, at the moment, require me to work outside of Houdini.

The lack of FBX support is deterring, but, can I get my Houdini rigged/ animated model to play inside of 3DS Max for Max output?

Houdini is very exciting, but possibly outside my work flow. Houdini seems that it would be the holy grail for animating, but lacks crossover capability for the price point now offered to a wider consumer base.

It's not easy to leave it all behind.

Thanks for reading. Advice and answers appreciated.
1631 posts
Hi theron,

You can write out the animated model into a sequence of Wavefront OBJ files (animated_model.$F4.obj) and use a OBJ importer in Max to read them.

Cheers!
steven
401 posts
You could also write a pointcache file that max can read.
Would be more work than the object way :roll: .

Georg
this is not a science fair.
5 posts
stevenong
Hi theron,

You can write out the animated model into a sequence of Wavefront OBJ files (animated_model.$F4.obj) and use a OBJ importer in Max to read them.

Cheers!
steven

That sounds interesting. I've never wrote a program command before. Where could I find instructions for “write out… into a sequence?” Is there a more specific term(s) for this process?

Thanks guys for replying.
639 posts
Hi Theron, Typically we use Geometry Output (ROP) to write out ths sequence of geometry. However, I don't think this feature is enabled under Apprentice program.
1631 posts
Alex, the Geometry ROP is available for Apprentice since 8.1 was released. This is to facilitate the Auto Rig capture, I believe.

theron, to write out a geometry sequence, you can use the ROP Output Driver in SOPs or the Geometry ROP like Alex said.

Please see attached file for both methods.

Cheers!
steven

Attachments:
geometry_output.hip (153.2 KB)

639 posts
stevenong