Skinned Wave Shape Pasted on a Grid Problem

6234   10   2
132 posts
I'm pretty new to Houdini so I imagine I'm missing an obvious key piece to this puzzle:
I'm trying to simulate plunging water waves rolling along a grid.
Imagine a set of water wave cross-sections built from nurbs curves that are skinned to create a wave front.
Now I want to take this nice single wave front and ‘merge’ it into an existing undeformed ‘water’ grid. This is also not just a height field approach. I have geometry curving over onto itself as the wave plunges.
So I have to carve away the geometry that exists in the foot print of the wave surface and stitch in my wave shape.
I've tried this a number of different ways and can't figure it out.
The closest I've gotten is using the Paste SOP. Unfortunately the trimming it does doesn't correctly match the curvy profile of the wave shape. It seems to trim only on a grid. I don't understand that.
I've also imagined using a Project SOP to get an accurate trim profile but that doesn't work straight from my wave shape.
If anyone undestands what I'm shooting for and has some ideas I can explore I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
132 posts
Not a lot of takers out there, huh?
Okay, well I did make a small amount of headway:
I discovered a switch in the Project SOP that does now correctly trim the base grid to the profile of my bulgy wave shape.
However, I'm still a bit stuck on merging the bulge shape into the static grid. That is, adding appropriate polys, etc, to create a connected surface.
I've played with Join, Stitch, and Fillet but they don't simply fill in the gaps in the trim hole.
Any thoughts?
I think I remember seeing an example of something like this on one of the helpcards…
99 posts
hi
are you building this after surf's up paper?
i did it also in houdini but i used curves much longer nad with higher point/cv density
so my wave lofted surface has lots of flat area beside wave…
z
132 posts