So many problems after installation on XP. Pls help.

7853   8   2
3 posts
Hi,

I'm new to 3D software and after giving 4D Cinema a go (which works great but is too expensive for a hobbyist), I found Houdini.

After a fresh install and a reinstall and a reinstall, I keep running into problems. Some I've tried to fix using help on this forum and Google.

Unfortunately some are persistent and I can really use your help.

Here's some system info:

And some details on my graphic card / driver:

1) OpenGL shading: I added the system variables, however on the Intel website it says that OpenGL can be enabled. Is there a huge difference?

2) “NT_Generator…” console message. I tried to solve it using a system variable as suggested in the forum. Unfortunately it didn't solve the problem.

3) I get error messages when I try to do “File > Import > …” and “Render > Create Render Node > …” (perhaps it occurs when I select other menu items too):

Thank you in advance for your help and… I can't wait to get creative :-).

Best regards,
Dennis
47 posts
enable open GL makes a hugh difference as a ton of draw and display
functions use it.

The other thing (at least to me ) is the graphics card itself. If you not on a “nvidia” or “ATI” it might be suspect. Technically any card capable of
running OpenGL should work but…..

As for the Python error which version of Python do you have installed?
You should probably have 2.3 or 2.4 installed.

Hope this was of some help.
52 posts
dennisvr
3) I get error messages when I try to do “File > Import > …” and “Render > Create Render Node > …” (perhaps it occurs when I select other menu items too):

See if installing to a path without any spaces in helps - http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&t=12247 [sidefx.com]
3 posts
Thank you for your very quick replies!

I reinstalled Houdini (again) as suggested in c:\houdini, the menu error is gone.