Ambient Occlusion- bad defects!

10359   11   2
32 posts
I find u ambient occlusion having bad artifact…

No matter which scenes i render, i m bound to have the bad defects…
anyone please guide…

I attached Clay and placed a environment light in the scene with area shape set to “Environment”.
Please advice
28 posts
I'm no pro yet but my understanding of getting ao in a scene is by adding a light template at scene level and assigning a vex global illumination shader to it.

Then play with the shader's global tint to get darker and brighter results and the shader's sampling to reduce noise at the expense of time.

see my file attached

Attachments:
ao.hipnc (221.2 KB)

12498 posts
The black artifact comes from the Clay shader, not the AO. This is a long-standing issue with the clay illumination model.

A problem compounding this is that your boxes have consolidated points and therefore being smooth-shaded. Append a Facet SOP (Unique the points or Cusp) to fix that.

PS. If you want an alternative to SESI's Oren Nayar clay shading that doesn't give you those artifacts, you might consider a VEX port of LocIllumOrenNayar from here: http://www.renderman.org/RMR/Pubs/arman/shaders/locillum.h [renderman.org]
Jason Iversen, Technology Supervisor & FX Pipeline/R+D Lead @ Weta FX
also, http://www.odforce.net [www.odforce.net]
32 posts
omg… indeed a houdini expert….
need advce and how to make the header file works in houdini.
please guide, i m interesting into renderman shader too…
32 posts
I tried Facet but it doesn't seem to work for ambient occlusion on the particle fluid. please advise… anyone?

28 posts
can you post the scene? and have you tried my setup? and have you tried Jason's suggested shader replacement?
32 posts
hi, i tried jason's method and the facet sop works perfectly on geometry…
but for dynamic object such as particle fluid, it didn't work.
I am looking at the alternative shader. But i do not know how to use the header file that he was referring to.