Modelling Help

4464   6   0
4 posts
Hi,

I'm a student new to Houdini 6 and I'm trying to model a tank for a project I'm doing. What I want to do is make some tracks that revolve around a curve I have already drawn to simulate the tracks movement. I have made an individual track piece and want to copy this all the way around the curve and then make each piece animate around this curve - I've tried many ways to no avail.

The only clear way I can see of doing it is by making an object for each track segment and them setting it to follow the curve path I have drawn. The problem with is is that I have about 40 pieces for each side, so when I want to move my tank I have to change each of the settings manually for 80 odd objects.

Is there a better way to do it?

Thanks.
1631 posts
Hi there,

Please search for answers to your question in this forum or over at odforce [odforce.net]. If I don't remember wrongly, there was also a mailing list thread & you can search through it here [sidefx.com].

Cheers!
steven
4 posts
Thanks for the reply!

I have indeed trawled through those resources but to no avail. At odforce there is mention of a thread with some help in it but I cannot seem to find any trace of it now, no matter where/how I look.
7715 posts
Did you remember to search for posts “from the beginning” instead of the default last 30 days?
4 posts
I certainly did. I also trawled through all the posts of this year but couldn't find it. If you can by all means look and post here
7715 posts
Try this thread:
http://odforce.net/forum/index.php?s=92387d083155732069c74a1ad8a7e501&act=ST&f=21&t=640&hl=311 [odforce.net]
4 posts