How do I import geometry from other applications

6097   10   4
12 posts
I am brand new to Houdini.
I have created a model in another 3D application, and can export it in a variety of formats - note: the model I want to import was originally created in Google Sketchup.

I need a tutorial on how to perform this import.
Any suggestions where I might go for this?

Thanks.
130 posts
Hi,

See the screenshot. At least 3 different ways:
- use File/Import
- use Create Shelf -> File
- use Network editor -> Tab menu -> Geometry -> Autocreated File Node.

Oh, and try using the OBJ or FBX format for export/import

Hope this helps,
Greg

Attachments:
import_obj_geometry.png (54.8 KB)

12 posts
That's what I am trying - but it doesn't work.
Watch this 1 minute screen capture to see what I'm doing ..

http://issues.videvent.com/houdini/07_29_10_1 [issues.videvent.com]

Thanks.
130 posts
Hi again,

My first guess: the $ in the filename might make H11 get confused, as the numbers get automagically matched to proper frame numbers. Get rid of the “show sequence as one” flag in the file open dialog, to force the actual numbers to be displayed and imported.

If this does not work, try checking out what error the node editor shows - your sceencast did not show that part of the H11 interface.

Cheers,
Greg
2199 posts
Yeah $F will get changed to the current frame number so if you aren't on a frame number that matches your input sequence the file sop will throw an error and not display anything. Looked like you had 7 objs in a sequence.
The trick is finding just the right hammer for every screw
12 posts
Thanks both of you.
I unchecked the “show sequence as one” flag as you suggested, and still nothing.'

I wonder if the scale is so small it's not visible at the default zoom?
Not that it should be.

I have not figured out how to zoom in here yet - the scroll wheel doesn't do it, and I don't see any zoom icons on the UI - think I need to do the introductory tutorials.