Question on learning scripting/language/expression

10655   6   1
55 posts
Dear All,

I would like to have some suggestions on picking up scripting/language/expression for Houdini. I have no language background nor having a math brain but I really want to do more in Houdini.

Houdini Doc is the best help; however, it sometimes doesn't go as basic…. I just asked a question regarding modulus operator (%) in the forum and I feel really stupid for even asking everyone to help on that. I did search and found out the usage with pulse expression and what it means in javascript and such though I still don't know where to go next in Houdini.

OK, so my question would be how do I learn Expression? I mean….is that a language its own? Is it the same thing as in Maya and After Effects, and java related?

Although the doc says Expression is old and will be replaced, it is still being widely used as well as in tutorials. And same to HScript, so instead I will be focusing on Python since HOM is using Python too…. I have tried to simplify the list of languages in the following, which limited down to Expression, Python, and VEX

Expression (“old scripting language” but still widely used)
HScript (“old scripting language”)
Python
Python Expression (Basically Python?)
HOM (using Python)
VEX

I read some chapters on Python but always got dragged away by some exercises, which always makes me wonder if they will be anything to do with Houdini (I know they do eventually) and really who knows how long will it take for me to get back working on Houdini.

Has there been book published on HScript, VEX, or HOM? Maybe I need a book on Expression, too.

Another problem is every time I am catching up a tutorial, I realize that the workflow has been changed or the functions are no longer there between versions, which really sucks and kept stopping me.