How to: Forms by Akten and Quayola

4563   6   1
9 posts
I decided to turn to Houdini inspired by Forms [vimeo.com]. Given that I am completely new to Houdini, but I already have the motion tracking data as multi-segmented spline, what tools/concepts should I study to create the following:

1. Generate particles emitted from the positions, which move along many spline segments concurrently.

2. Generate geometry such as pipes, nurbs, driven by the positions moving along many spline segments concurrently.

Links to relevant tutorials would be especially helpful, as well as the highlevel concepts and speculations.

Thanks a lot.

My multisegmented motion tracking spline looks like this:

9 posts
6 days, 93 views, 0 answers. I guess Houdini is not the right tool for this job?
184 posts
I think there's a certain ‘seek and ye shall find’ quality to any answer to your questions… Yes you can do all of these things, and it can come to you quite quickly if you get stuck in with the tutorials…it's a deep a bit hole and there's no one single answer; there's no shortage of info on where to start, but for creative input/discussion you could pop over to odforce.

A couple of like minded random links from there…

http://forums.odforce.net/index.php?/topic/8471-eetus-lab/ [forums.odforce.net]
http://forums.odforce.net/index.php?/topic/16470-machas-sammelsurium/ [forums.odforce.net]

The forms stuff is really cool btw.
9 posts
AdamT
I think there's a certain ‘seek and ye shall find’ quality to any answer to your questions…

Thanks for your reply and links, I will study them. I am browsing all the tutorials and posts here, which sound like they could teach me what I am after. However, a problem I am having is that although they sound applicable, due to Houdini approach, which is completely foreign to me (coming from c4d world), I get lost very quickly without ever answering the question, whether I could do what I am after at the end.