Water drops

8717   5   1
87 posts
I want to animate balls dropping into a pool. The pool will be made of 7 water layers of different colors. For instance when a red ball falls it will make a splash in the red water layer, then about 1/2 second later a blue ball will fall and affect the blue layer. Well, I think you get the idea. Can this be done? I want to put it to music and maybe have the balls represent the different notes on a scale.
23 posts
<tongue-in-cheek> yes.
87 posts
danteA
<tongue-in-cheek> yes.

Thank you mister helper man. :shock: :roll:
60 posts
Hello Harlequin,

I'm down with what you're doing.
Unfortunately I'm a beginner in many ways to Houdini….
but I couldn't help but try to aid you after such a….
(well I won't say it) response.
My lame attempt to aid you in such a manner.
But hey, we all have to start somewhere, and I can certainly empathize given the (sometimes) rudimentary questions I post.

Since you want scales,
you could set up some form of mathematic division based on distance of object to collision plane, or vice versa.
Same mathematical division that Pythagoras shot his wad on. Distance=harmonics and basic subdivisions… or even Micro-tonal.
The distance-harmonic can be as large or small as need be to gain the affect you want… as long as it adheres to the basic divisional equation.

I think the first steps are to create a particle system that releases particles at some form of interval (automated or animated).
These particles will be allowed to collide with only the surface that you choose them to collide with.
A collision event could be created, that triggers a sample (wav or aiff) with a trigger chop that references the collision event (the particle hitting the surface.
An object (such as a sphere) could then be attached to the particle (as well as a meta-object that works as a “magnet-deformer”) to push and pull on the surface it's colliding with.