Learning Paths

4554   9   0
5 posts
Hello everyone,

Since I'm new to Houdini I thought it would be best to join the forum and ask for some sage advice from experienced Houdini users on this forum. Firstly I would like to say how exciting it is to be learning Houdini.

I'm a student at the moment studying art and composting, gradually I've been shifting towards VFX, I realize it would have been best to do a computer science degree but that ship has sailed and only have a year left of school anyway.

Regarding learning Houdini, I thought it would be best to do all the basic tuts available at Side Effects which I have managed to blaze through and go back and do again to make sure the basics sink in. After that I have all the Digital tutors and Cmivfx tuts to go through as well.

Do you think these are good starting points into building a solid foundation in Houdini? Also I realize it would be a good idea to learn some form of scripting. Most people recommend Python as a good one to start off with, having said that, I think just learning how Houdini works and sticking with the shelf tools for now, is the best way to go.

any advice would be much appreciated.

333 posts
I am not a big fan of the DT Workshops. They might be okay for introduction stuff but otherwise they seem not very professional. No offense to anyone!

CMIvfx has a few good ones but a lot of them need you to have a solid understanding of the basic fundamentals.

Also rohan davi is a good teacher and a very skilled generalist. He is coming from 3dsm if i remmeber correctly. But also you wil need to have the fundamental knowledge to follow most of them.

http://www.rohandalvi.net/ [rohandalvi.net]

I think a start with the free sidefx classes is a great option and from there move on to more complex stuff.
5 posts