How a 3D workflow works

2996   5   1
4 posts
Hey everyone, I'm new here and I got some general questions to a 3D workflow.

I've been doing photography and photoshopping everything for 6 years now, I so I'm pretty comfortable with it. I've also been doing after effects based motion graphics and compositing for a couple of years now, so I know my way around AE and how to fit 2D objects and indeed to some extend 3D objects in an existing scene. I know how to motion track stuff (I'm okay I know the basics and how it works and done a couple). I've also modeled and textured a bit in maya and I'm also familiar with maya rendering procedure in general (certainly not very good but eventually I get where I need to go) Mainly to integrate some 3D elements in existing footage. I'm saying all this since you kind of need to know what I know to answer my question.

I'm completely new to houdini and I'm not really so good at the 3D side of things so I can't really extrapolate from what I know and apply it to houdini. But here's what I know about a 3D workflow.

First comes the modeling and texturing of your 3D objects. Then you need to light it properly and animate and then render it. After that is all said in done you need a compositor to place all your elements in your scene (so that's the rough scheme of things).