Thinking of moving from Rhino to Houdini

11396   7   5
3 posts
Hello everyone. First post ever. A little background, I've been using Rhino3D for the past 5 years, always had an interest in learning Houdini though. Rhino is a fantastic modeler and I've enjoyed using it over the years but Houdini seems to be able to do so much more. Scary stuff moving to a new program.. to be a newb again.. buh!

Anyway, I think I've finally come to a crossroads. Here's my problem.. tensile structures and mesh relaxation. Rhino/Grasshopper is fantastic at these things but.. omg painfully slow at times!! R/G is single threaded and even relatively speaking its crazy slow!

My current project is to create an organic model using basic shapes and then relax/shrink a larger mesh around it(see pic). I think this might be right up Houdini's alley. In Rhino/Grasshopper it takes forever for it just to set up the mesh and then more forever to shrink the mesh around the objects. The finer the mesh and the more objects to shrink around the time needed goes up exponentially! Each time I have to adjust the settings for a trial run it's at least 20min.

I'm wondering if this can be done in Houdini. If you google tensile structures or organic style architecture, it's almost always done in Rhino. I'm sure it can but I've never seen a Houdini example so before I take the plunge I'd like to know for sure.

Thoughts?

Attachments:
meshrelax.jpg (892.4 KB)

2624 posts
Houdini is not a modeller like Rhino …. Its primary use is for FX / Lighting / Rendering.
Gone fishing
517 posts
The modelling tools have come a long way in the last few releases, I'm actually really enjoying it now and starting to model more and more for a unity project I'm working on.
I reckon what bergkatse is talking about would be something Houdini could handle. The model doesn't seem too complicated then maybe some sort of cloth sim for the shrink wrap?
127 posts
Hi,