Houdini 16 - Learning path

13242   14   1
37 posts
Hi!

I'm a wannabe 3D artist who just installed Houdini for the first time ( apprentice H16 ). I'd like Houdini to become my main ( and if possible, only ) 3D app for creating 3D/VFX live action shorts ( and possibly fully animated shorts ).

There is no day-one intro to Houdini 16 tutorials, so i was wondering what was the best way for me to start? Should i start with pluralsight Intro to H15 and them move to new features in 15.5 and after that to H16? Is there a better way for me to start?

I'd appreciate any help ;D
https://twitter.com/majstorovich [twitter.com]
https://www.youtube.com/myMotionExperience [www.youtube.com]
2036 posts
Go to the tutorials section and filter for H16.

Just go through all the ones with “Network” in them.

After that chew on any tutorial you feel is something of value, like the pluralsight one you mentioned.

If there seems to be some discrepancy ( that you can't do something in H16 that they are doing in the tut ),

just chime in on the forum with your question.
2036 posts
…and keep checking the H16 tut section…I just saw a new one there that must have been put in today, since it wasn't there with the others yesterday.

I think they will be rolling out some more as time goes on.
7 posts
I finished watching Rohan Dalvi rocket tutorial and now following along in Houdini 16 - I highly recommend that tutorial! It covers a bit of everything. I'm also new to Houdini starting with 16.

http://www.rohandalvi.net/rocket/ [rohandalvi.net]
11 posts
Thanks for the pointers, I'm in the same boat - want to focus on H16 for the next year; plan on using it along with UE4 and Unity.

In my case I'll be moving away mostly from Maya LT and Blender.

-Will
11 posts
SonK
I finished watching Rohan Dalvi rocket tutorial and now following along in Houdini 16 - I highly recommend that tutorial! It covers a bit of everything. I'm also new to Houdini starting with 16.