Connecting far apart nodes in the netview

   218   5   1
User Avatar
Member
1376 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Hi,
Before I submit a RFE I want to make sure there's indeed a problem with no solution.
What I'm talking about is doing retopo work on a model but using other models ops as well. This will result in a rather big network of nodes and each new laid down topobuild SOP's 2nd input will have to be connected to the reference mesh, so that will require you to pan a lot up to the top.
The solution I tried is to set a Quickmark at the top of the tree, but when selecting the input or output to connect to the other SOP, the Quickmark hotkey or ‘F’ won't work.
Ideas?
Edited by inhiding - Jan. 3, 2018 16:37:35
https://www.artstation.com/artist/mcnistor [www.artstation.com]
Happy place escapee.
User Avatar
Member
1376 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
I have modified the title because this is not a specific to topobuild work problem, although it would probably manifest in the worst way when doing modeling due to the huge node accretion.
https://www.artstation.com/artist/mcnistor [www.artstation.com]
Happy place escapee.
User Avatar
Staff
1690 posts
Joined: July 2005
Online
Press and hold the space bar (to temporarily enter the “volatile view state”) before hitting the quickmark/frame hotkeys.
User Avatar
Member
1376 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Thanks Mark. I might've stumbled upon a bug - when I go “space+1” Houdini deselects the node currently active and selects, I presume, the node I had selected when I created the Quickmark. Just guessing which node, but it certainly does select another node, making “space+F” for returning to the last node impossible.
https://www.artstation.com/artist/mcnistor [www.artstation.com]
Happy place escapee.
User Avatar
Staff
1690 posts
Joined: July 2005
Online
Yes, quickmarks remember the selection you had when you define the quickmark, and I can see why that would be troublesome here. However any time you use a quickmark, you can hit backtick to “go back” to wherever you were, with whatever selection you had before you invoked the quickmark. Basically when you use a quickmark (or hit F to Frame, H to home, etc) we create a quickmark with the pre-jump state that gets invoked by hitting backtick. Think of it as the “back” button for your network editor.
User Avatar
Member
1376 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Ah, yes, that works pretty well and having to reselect the last node is not a huge issue but it would be awesome if it were another mode (ctrl+shift+number maybe?) which remembers just positions w/o selections so that I get to keep my selection. I should probably RFE this.

Never mind, I wasn't paying sufficient attention.
Thanks a bunch Mark!
Edited by inhiding - Jan. 4, 2018 10:12:07
https://www.artstation.com/artist/mcnistor [www.artstation.com]
Happy place escapee.
  • Quick Links