fbx scale import/export options?

5456   5   0
10 posts
Hello,

I'm new to houdini and I have a question.

When I'm working with maya or 3ds max, and I export/import an fbx file, I have the option to set a scale:

The same thing with blender

and unreal also has the option to scale when importing fbx

I'm wondering if this type of scale option exists for houdini when importing/exporting fbx?

Thank you in advance! :-)

Ryan

Attachments:
maya_fbx_export_unit_option.jpg (11.7 KB)
blender_fbx_export_unit_scale_options.jpg (4.6 KB)
unreal_fbx_import_unit_scale_options.jpg (5.3 KB)

7747 posts
There is no import scale on the import dialog. However, you can apply the scale to the top node/subnet, or parent the top node/subnet to a node with the desired scale.
10 posts
jsmack
There is no import scale on the import dialog. However, you can apply the scale to the top node/subnet, or parent the top node/subnet to a node with the desired scale.

Thank you for the reply :-)

Having to manually change the scale every time I import an FBX is not really desirable. Is there a way to script the importing so I can proceduralize the process?

Exporting FBX is also a problem if I can't change the unit scale at time of export. If I use a digital asset, houdini engine seems to take care of any unit scaling in other DCCs, but I can't use a digital asset for everything, some things I have to use an FBX.

Being able to change unit scale at time of fbx import/export would really help me streamline my production pipeline. I'm hoping there's a way to change a setting or script out the process.

Ryan
7747 posts
hou.hipFile.importFBX(), but it doesn't have any options that aren't on the dialog. However, it's use in a script that prepends the scale conversion you want is possible.
15 posts
You can set import scale by adding Transform node just after importing FBX and setting uniform scale.