Quixel Bridge / Houdini Live Link Integration

   6079   53   5
User Avatar
Member
1082 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
@efxlab, So in all that text I also read “works fine” so does that mean it works fine ? warnings are just warnings shouldn't cause any issues and yes it's for the upcomming wind things.
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
MagnusL3D
yes it's for the upcomming wind things.

excellent ! good work
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: Feb. 2015
Offline
Can anyone explain how you scatter using paint?
I know you have to type some code in the wrangle but mine isn't working.
User Avatar
Member
137 posts
Joined: March 2014
Offline
Did you check the post on the first page on my question?
there's a .hip file and code.

rob
Apprentice Attribute / Houdini 17.0.381 / GTX 970 - driver 411.63
User Avatar
Member
10 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
Hi,
Is it possible to add a material Live Link for Render Man in Houdini?

Gero
User Avatar
Member
1082 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
Sorry for late answers but,

aaronsbot
Can anyone explain how you scatter using paint?
I know you have to type some code in the wrangle but mine isn't working.

As Rob pointed out there is a example file at the start of the thread but a short explenation is that I just put a wrangle node after the paint generally and type in:
f@density = v@Cd.r;
Since the scattering is all based on the density attribute and white color = 1 means density = 1 etc.

limbicnation
Is it possible to add a material Live Link for Render Man in Houdini?
Everything is possible, currently there is no plan for it but I would suggest to perhaps report it through their help system so it gets logged in the proper databases etc. I will however also mention it

Here is that page:
https://megascans.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new? [megascans.zendesk.com]
Edited by MagnusL3D - Jan. 30, 2019 16:32:21
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
heya Magnus, you updated the plugin to 2.0, nice, can you show us a changelogs and new features … I see now a new node simple motion.
thank you
User Avatar
Member
1082 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
There is a post here:
https://help.quixel.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360005354858-Houdini-Livelink-Version-2-0 [help.quixel.com]
And I belive it might be a good idea to try move the conversation over there in the future


Also here:
2.0

  • The Quixel Redshift Triplanar HDAs projection world/object channel reference was broken for most of the internal RS Triplanar nodes. This have now been addressed.

  • Addressed a spelling error in the Main Menu dropdown.

  • Improved spacing between items in the dropdown menu of the LiveLink interface.

  • Texture .RAT File converter option in settings menu added. When this option is checked and the Render Engine is set to ‘Mantra’ any textures exported will be converted to .RAT files.

  • The ‘SOURCE’ node for 3d geo exports is now colored green just as it is for atlas exports, for better visibility.

  • Added ‘Height’ controls for density scattering on the ‘Quixel Simple Scatter’ node.

Motion:
The ‘Quixel Simple Scatter’ scatter node has been updated with a new ‘tab’ called Motion, enabling the ‘Enable Animated Motion’ will add motion to the instanced geometry, and expose new settings to control the motion.

A new HDA has been created called ‘Quixel Simple Motion’ and is automatically created when exporting objects to Houdini.
This node is created within the ‘SOURCE’ objects and will deform the geometry by twisting, bending and noise offsets. There are several settings on the ‘Quixel Simple Motion’ node to customize the attributes driving this.
The ‘Quixel Simple Motion’ node is by default ‘bypassed’ by a custom ‘bypass’ toggle on the node. This toggle is in turn linked to a ‘bypass motion node’ channel on the ‘SOURCE’ node (in a new Quixel tab) to easily turn on and off the motion node if the exported object has several source objects.
Edited by MagnusL3D - March 21, 2019 19:48:43
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
did you tested on Arnold htoa 4.0, quixel export is totally fucked, it happen from texture node, I have not yet identified the issue. In houdini > 17.x the instancing seem work differently, my old project doesn't work, remember me instance should look at source node or aset ?
If I have more info I'll report it.
User Avatar
Member
1082 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
Please use the linked Quixel forums for reporting, so their QA and Community managers see this and not just me.

Here is the link again:
https://help.quixel.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360005354858-Houdini-Livelink-Version-2-0 [help.quixel.com]
Edited by MagnusL3D - March 23, 2019 13:56:33
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
Thanks for the info

MagnusL3D
Please use the linked Quixel forums for reporting, so their QA and Community managers see this and not just me.
User Avatar
Member
1082 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
efxlab
Thanks for the info

MagnusL3D
Please use the linked Quixel forums for reporting, so their QA and Community managers see this and not just me.

It would help out a lot going there. I have however reported it internally to. But please go there too.
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
1082 posts
Joined: Aug. 2008
Offline
@efxlab,

I've posted 2 workarounds to current issues with Arnold here:

https://help.quixel.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360005345877-17-5-173-HtoA-4-Error-and-current-workarounds [help.quixel.com]
/M

Personal Houdini test videos, http://vimeo.com/magnusl3d/ [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
@MagnusL3D great, thanks, it solved my issue with quixel AND arnold both.
  • Quick Links