Transform any Mesh to complex Lego Geometry (Examples inkl.)

4752   14   3
9 posts
Hey Community,

nice to finally be part of the Houdini community. It is going to be great.

I'm very new to Houdini and will be using the software primarily for special FX like many in my line of work. But my first urgent project is already overwhelming without help.

I need help creating an asset that will allow me to turn any mesh into a complex Lego object. To make it easier to understand how exactly this should look like, I have linked some examples from other Houdini users.

Unfortunately, I don't even have a plan as to which tutorials and courses would be most suitable for targeting and implementation.
So please! If someone could make my way a little easier, has tips on which tutorials I should start with or can name some nodes for a more detailed assessment, I would be more than grateful.

Best Regards
Boris

Examples:
https://youtu.be/Ty-EKd9W0w8 [youtu.be]
https://vimeo.com/432816453 [vimeo.com]
https://www.behance.net/gallery/99293485/LEGO-Generator [www.behance.net]
670 posts
Hi Boris,

have you seen this already?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kljy7fuPc5k [www.youtube.com]
https://procegen.konstantinmagnus.de/ [procegen.konstantinmagnus.de]
9 posts
Hey! Jo I watched all Houdini tutorials with Lego content. Unfortunately, I need the functions for generating procedural landscapes as mentioned in the examples.
670 posts
You can fill meshes with the points from volume-node and take the volume's gradient as normal direction. Then copy the bricks onto the points. But the projects you've shown as examples are not exactly beginner level stuff.
9 posts
Konstantin Magnus
You can fill meshes with the points from volume-node and take the volume's gradient as normal direction. Then copy the bricks onto the points. But the projects you've shown as examples are not exactly beginner level stuff.