H20 - Bubble Wrap Scene - 30min render and looks like crap

   3331   17   1
User Avatar
Member
297 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
I have an RTX3090.

I have downloaded the bubble wrap scene from content library. Switched viewport to Karma XPU. It took over 30 min to render. And the final result looks nothing like the realistic bubble wrap shown during the demo. I tried Karma CPU. Same stuff. The attached screenshot is from Karma CPU.

During the keynote demo the bubble wrap scene rendered almost instantly :-) Any ideas why this could be?
Edited by LukeP - Nov. 11, 2023 11:26:13

Attachments:
Screenshot 2023-11-11 110510.png (4.1 MB)

User Avatar
Member
436 posts
Joined: April 2018
Offline
Is the final render on the content library page denoised? It looks denoised to me.
Subscribe to my Patreon for the best CG tips, tricks and tutorials! https://patreon.com/bhgc [patreon.com]

Twitter: https://twitter.com/brianhanke [twitter.com]
Behance: https://www.behance.net/brianhanke/projects [www.behance.net]
User Avatar
Member
297 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
BrianHanke
Is the final render on the content library page denoised? It looks denoised to me.

when you turn on the denoiser it looks even worse :-)

That's what I thought initially.
User Avatar
Member
436 posts
Joined: April 2018
Offline
Just tried it, I think this looks pretty much like their render.

Attachments:
denoise.png (1015.0 KB)

Subscribe to my Patreon for the best CG tips, tricks and tutorials! https://patreon.com/bhgc [patreon.com]

Twitter: https://twitter.com/brianhanke [twitter.com]
Behance: https://www.behance.net/brianhanke/projects [www.behance.net]
User Avatar
Member
297 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
Thanks Brian. I’ll check it again. Maybe it’s something with my system.

Did you just open the scene as is, then went to Solaris and selected karma xpu from the viewport dropdown?

What was your render time?
User Avatar
Member
436 posts
Joined: April 2018
Offline
I changed two things. I reduced the samples to 100 since the render doesn't need to be clean for denoising. Probably could go even lower. I also turned on a tone mapper to get the contrasty look they got.

I just rendered a region to test, but looks like it would be about 15 minutes total on my laptop at 100 samples.
Subscribe to my Patreon for the best CG tips, tricks and tutorials! https://patreon.com/bhgc [patreon.com]

Twitter: https://twitter.com/brianhanke [twitter.com]
Behance: https://www.behance.net/brianhanke/projects [www.behance.net]
User Avatar
Member
297 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
Awesome. Thank you. I’ll check it out when I get home.
User Avatar
Member
7936 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
LukeP
I have an RTX3090.

I have downloaded the bubble wrap scene from content library. Switched viewport to Karma XPU. It took over 30 min to render. And the final result looks nothing like the realistic bubble wrap shown during the demo. I tried Karma CPU. Same stuff. The attached screenshot is from Karma CPU.

During the keynote demo the bubble wrap scene rendered almost instantly :-) Any ideas why this could be?

Your screenshot matches the one in the content library and my result, how did it look during the demo? I'm using the default OCIO config to test which doesn't use a tone map and has rec709 primaries.

I can't speak for render times, they are what they are. It took 30 minutes to render 1024 samples with XPU for me with an RTX 3090 and a 10 core Intel CPU. It doesn't seem that noisy at 1024 samples, but with that much depth of field I guess it's expected to take a lot of samples.
User Avatar
Member
7936 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
LukeP
My colours and tone are all off. I wonder maybe it’s because I don’t have the OCIO co figured properly in settings or on the viewport display. Not really sure how to do that.

I don't think the color and tone are the point of the demo. The colors could have been dialed in ACES space with a tonemap on the display view, but if you open the scene in an env configured for rec709 the colors will be desaturated and the scene will look flat when viewed without a tone map, but the result won't be materially different. The color config used wasn't distributed with the scene.


The purpose of the demo is to show that it's possible to render thin film refraction with XPU. The performance leaves something to be desired. I made a fake thin film refraction using alpha opacity in Mantra that renders with depth of field using Micropoly rendering and has about as much noise at 16 samples as XPU does at 1000. Mantra took 24 minutes for those 16 samples compared to XPU's 30 for 1000 though. I wonder if it's possible to implement a fake refraction shader in XPU.

Attachments:
Mantra_bubble_wrap.jpg (1.3 MB)
KarmaXPU_bubble_wrap.jpg (1.5 MB)

User Avatar
Member
35 posts
Joined: Feb. 2016
Offline
LukeP
I have an RTX3090.

I have downloaded the bubble wrap scene from content library. Switched viewport to Karma XPU. It took over 30 min to render. And the final result looks nothing like the realistic bubble wrap shown during the demo. I tried Karma CPU. Same stuff. The attached screenshot is from Karma CPU.

During the keynote demo the bubble wrap scene rendered almost instantly :-) Any ideas why this could be?

One important thing which should be changed right away by sidefx, is that when your render settings have a higher resolution then the actual render view, it will use the higher resolution as can be seen in your screenshot where it says 1920x1080. Pretty sure your render view window was smaller then 1920x1080. This goes both ways by the way, make your resolution in the render settings smaller than your window size and it will render the smaller resolution and blow it up to your render view window.
https://behance.net/derya [behance.net]
User Avatar
Member
7936 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
Yader
LukeP
I have an RTX3090.

I have downloaded the bubble wrap scene from content library. Switched viewport to Karma XPU. It took over 30 min to render. And the final result looks nothing like the realistic bubble wrap shown during the demo. I tried Karma CPU. Same stuff. The attached screenshot is from Karma CPU.

During the keynote demo the bubble wrap scene rendered almost instantly :-) Any ideas why this could be?

One important thing which should be changed right away by sidefx, is that when your render settings have a higher resolution then the actual render view, it will use the higher resolution as can be seen in your screenshot where it says 1920x1080. Pretty sure your render view window was smaller then 1920x1080. This goes both ways by the way, make your resolution in the render settings smaller than your window size and it will render the smaller resolution and blow it up to your render view window.

You can set the render view to either use the rendersettings size or the size of the window in the display settings.
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: July 2017
Offline
Hi All

I've also downloaded this project zip file, the file contains a folder and other files and folders like "task"and some more..
How do I open the scene in Houdini?


Thank you
Edited by Baruch - Nov. 15, 2023 21:37:41
User Avatar
Member
7936 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
Open bubble_wrap.hip with Houdini
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: July 2017
Offline
This is what I getting when I'm opening the zip..
I don't see .hip file after extraction..
Edited by Baruch - Nov. 16, 2023 12:43:57

Attachments:
Screenshot 2023-11-16 at 9.40.33AM.png (58.4 KB)

User Avatar
Member
7936 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Offline
Houdini can't open a zip file directly. After extracting the zip there will be bubble_wrap.hip, at least there was when I downloaded it.
User Avatar
Member
297 posts
Joined: March 2009
Offline
Baruch
This is what I getting when I'm opening the zip..
I don't see .hip file after extraction..

Hi sorry. When I started this thread is wasn’t meant to be a tutorial on how to work with zip files or open files in Houdini. Please take this somewhere else.

Having viewed the content examples I can tell you they are not beginners. Suggest you view some of the SideFX Houdini basics tutorials on the web first and even then this might not be the best place to start.
User Avatar
Member
9 posts
Joined: Oct. 2022
Offline
Does XPU use RT cores?
User Avatar
Member
238 posts
Joined: Nov. 2013
Offline
this is related: https://www.sidefx.com/forum/topic/93004/ [www.sidefx.com]
http://www.sekowfx.com [www.sekowfx.com]
  • Quick Links