New to houdini some basic questions

6413   5   2
58 posts
hey folks, this is my first post, i'm new to houdini and hoping to switch from maya to houdini.
just wanted to say hello.

small question i have 2 boxes in one geo object and one box has no divisions and the other box has 5.

i input both the boxes into a cookie to basicly greate more smaller cubes.
(its just a small test)

now i run dynamics (active rigid body) on the geo object (node?) but when i play the animation the cubes still act as one big cube ?

how do i (split?) those cubes to they each have dynamics on them ?.
1390 posts
you wanna create a box made with smaller boxes to destroy it in DOPs?
Cookie is not the best option for this. In general every object you want to play in DOPs separately should belong to different SOP or different primitive group in one SOP. Then you can send them to DOPs.

Go and see Tutorials (check Learning Menu above). Also H9 blog under the same menu. There are some videos and pdfs about DOPs. Good to start with !

here you have an example. I hope this is what you meant.

cheers,
sy.

Attachments:
dops example.hipnc (86.8 KB)

696 posts
as for which method is better… sometimes a cookie is what's needed… but, it sounds like your problem isn't that you're using a cookie, it's that you are not sending it through the simulation correctly.

First, you need to make sure that after your cookies, you've grouped your two different boxes. Let's say box 1 will be put into a group called 1, and box 2 will be a group called 2.

If you use a merge to connect your cookies, your final geometry should look like the two boxes, and when you mmb the merge sop, you'll see that there are 2 groups, 1 and 2.