Actually Learning Houdini?

8155   8   2
3 posts
Cheers everyone,

Nice to meet you all, as this is my first post. Lets say you had to teach Houdini in a class, and your curriculum was a beginners class meaning no Houdini experience what so ever! Where would you start? The reason I ask this is because Im finally going to take the time to really devote my efforts in learning Houdini. Every time I try this I am directed to start with a tutorial of some sort that dives right into expressions and variables that don't make any sense to a new user. I come from a Maya background so Im not a total noob, but whenever I get advice or I've taken the courses in Santa Monica, they also start off where someone would have to have had experience in Houdini would understand.

Could someone please give me a basic idea of were to begin? Is it better to study in a class, or is it better online? Id like to learn Houdini in stages, meaning Interface, Buttons, Viewports, Objects, Lighting, Texturing, Rendering, etc…Also something that is most current not working from an earlier version especially if there are new ways of doing things that may have changed. I would really appreciate any advice as maybe I can finally get over my fear of learning such a great piece of software!

Thank you. :wink:
“If you understood everything I said, you’d be me”
― Miles Davis
197 posts
Houdini first steps.
3 posts
Delight0092
Houdini first steps.

Thank you, now I'm on the right track.
― Miles Davis
390 posts
i am a student who started learning houdini about a year and a half ago. im really happy that i was taught the way i was, because i think it helped to get a really thorough understanding of the software. at our school, we first run through the intro to houdini tutorials that are on the welcome page of the docs. then we expand upon the last example and do a procedural forest.