Export alembic sequence yields only first frame

   3483   9   2
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: 3月 2009
Offline
Hi there,

I'm trying to export a simple geo as alembic sequence using ROP Alembic, but I'm unable to export more the 1 frame.

I'm rendering custom frame range from 1 to 10.
$HIP/output.$F4.abc

I would expect to see: output.1001.abc, output.1002.abc, output.1003.abc etc…
But I always get only “output.1001.abc”

I attached also a simple scene.

Am I missing something fundamental?

Thanks
Edited by jizrik - 2017年2月17日 08:24:11
User Avatar
Member
1928 posts
Joined: 6月 2008
Offline
I believe Alembic has the animation contained within a single file. You don't need a sequence. A sequence is for file types that can not contain animation such as .obj or .bgeo.sc
Using Houdini Indie
Ubuntu 18.04 48GB Ryzen 16 core.
nVidia 1070GTX 8BG RAM
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: 3月 2009
Offline
Thanks,

Yes I'm aware of that alembic can contain the whole animation within one file. But that's not what I'm after.
I have a geometry which is different per frame and I would like to export each frame as a single file, but I'm unable to make it work with alembic ROP. I can do it easily with bgeo… is that some limitation?
User Avatar
Member
19 posts
Joined: 12月 2006
Offline
jizrik
Thanks,

Yes I'm aware of that alembic can contain the whole animation within one file. But that's not what I'm after.
I have a geometry which is different per frame and I would like to export each frame as a single file, but I'm unable to make it work with alembic ROP. I can do it easily with bgeo… is that some limitation?

There will be no limitations with bgeo that im aware off. Bgeo is the native format in houdini and should retain all attributes you embed in it.

It doesn't contain animation in a single file, but thats not what you are after anyway.

Cheers
User Avatar
Member
4172 posts
Joined: 6月 2012
Offline
You could try to write with a file node or a Rop output driver node.

Alembics used to have problems with any geo not being in the first frame, so individual frames may be abusing the format.
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: 4月 2018
Offline
I'm having a similar problem with an FBX export. The first frame renders over and over again across the entire frame range.

Any chance this is related?
User Avatar
Member
418 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
just works as far as i can test (abc format)

most obvious question possible to ask is…Valid Frame Range is NOT on Render Current Frame, right ?

Here, simple test, you'll get 24 Teapots.

Attachments:
vu_Teapot.hiplc (104.3 KB)

User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: 4月 2018
Offline
Fair question!

But frame range is set for the whole animation. and ABC format renders perfectly. It's only FBX that renders the first frame 240 times (the frame range of the animation). Very frustrating…
User Avatar
Member
418 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
btangonan
Fair question!

But frame range is set for the whole animation. and ABC format renders perfectly. It's only FBX that renders the first frame 240 times (the frame range of the animation). Very frustrating…
haven't tested FBX yet, sorry.
User Avatar
Member
418 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
just tested FBX, using File node to import is not quite right ? or I could be not using it the right way ?

Anyway, If I go via the Menu File>Import>FBX…then it's right.
  • Quick Links