echo commands like maya script editor

   16634   6   1
User Avatar
Member
460 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi

Maybe this been asked before but I could not find anything.

Is it posible to echo commands like in maya's script editor, you know, you click on create sphere and in the script editor show the MEL commands that generate the sphere.

If this is not possible, how can I find out the commands for example, of the move tool, rotate tool, etc

this might be very simple but I can't find it

thank you

varomix
varomix - Founder | Educator @ Mix Training
Technical Artist @ Meta Reality Labs
User Avatar
Staff
3455 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
commandecho on
will give you some things…

and digging in the textport will get you the rest…

exhelp opparm

etc
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Training Lead
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
User Avatar
Member
460 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
thanks Arctor

that's what I'm looking for although is kinda limited, doesn't echo selections and tool changes, need to figure that out

I didn't understand the exhelp opparm thing

I have to type something like exhelp movetool
or something like that to get help on that command?

thanks a lot man this really do help

varomix
varomix - Founder | Educator @ Mix Training
Technical Artist @ Meta Reality Labs
User Avatar
Member
1631 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi there,

Please note the Move or Rotate Tool is not a tool but a node like the Transform SOP for geometry data or changing the Transformation values of the Object itself. The command to change values of a node is “opparm”. And it's not “exhelp opparm” but "help opparm" to get more info. Michael got mixed up but it's easy to do so because you only need the commands once in a while.

To create a sphere, the following will create a sphere with the defaults.
cd /obj/geo1
opadd sphere

To help you understand how to create an existing node, you can use the opscript command in the textport.
/obj -> opscript /obj/geo1/sphere1
# Automatically generated script: Wednesday March 26, 10:07
\set noalias = 1
set saved_path = `execute(“oppwf”)`
opcf /obj/geo1

# Node sphere1 (Sop/sphere)
opadd -n sphere sphere1
oplocate -x -1.95525 -y -5.28963 sphere1
opspareds “” sphere1
opparm sphere1 type ( prim ) surftype ( quads ) rad ( 1 1 1 ) t ( 0 0 0 ) orient ( y ) freq ( 2 ) rows ( 10 ) cols ( 10 ) orderu ( 4 ) orderv ( 4 ) imperfect ( on ) upole ( off ) accurate ( on )
chlock sphere1 -*
chautoscope sphere1 -*
opcolor -c 0.8 0.8 0.8 sphere1
opset -d off -r off -h off -f off -y off -t off -l off -s off -u off -c off -e on -b off sphere1
opexprlanguage -s hscript sphere1

opcf /obj/geo1
opcf $saved_path

You can type help or exhelp in the textport and it will print out the commands/functions for you. To get more info on a particular command/function, you will do so:
help opset
or
exhelp sin

There is an Expressions section in the Help Browser too.

Hope the above helps!

Cheers!
steven
User Avatar
Member
460 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
wow that is so great, you can tweak every aspect of that, that is so cool

now the other thing I need to do.

I'm rigging a test character, and I want to execute a command in the select script property of the null control, I need the two things
1 - when I select the null activate the rotate tool or move tool, no matter what tool is currently active

2 - When I select the null, it trigger a command so select another null

what I'm trying to do is a nice interface where you can select the different parts of the rig.

again, thank you guys, you been very helpful

varomix
intelia_@_animate
varomix - Founder | Educator @ Mix Training
Technical Artist @ Meta Reality Labs
User Avatar
Staff
3455 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
yeah…sorry I always get them mixed up…I should just add that to my sig… ;\


instead of select scripts have a look at the character picker
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Training Lead
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
User Avatar
Member
460 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
thanks Michael

I check out character picker, although I had to search for it in my file system since I couldn't find anything in the help docs.

Is this documented? is kinda what I want to do and is actually a very cool tool


thanks again and I kinda found a way to select objects with this


opset -p on /obj/toon_character1/spine/ctrl_cog /obj/toon_character1/spine/ctrl_chest1

I'll test this and share the results later

thanks again

varomix
varomix - Founder | Educator @ Mix Training
Technical Artist @ Meta Reality Labs
  • Quick Links