Shading artifacts?

11151   8   2
6 posts
Can anyone tell me what causes these artifacts? Most of them look to form triangles bisecting the square polys, but I can't figure out what's doing it.

Attachments:
example.jpg (124.8 KB)

78 posts
I'm very new to Houdini but that looks like a shading error from smoothing. Try adding a facet SOP and check the creasing angle box and tweak the angle…..
http://www.elementvfx.com [elementvfx.com]
Staff
2591 posts
eljefe
Can anyone tell me what causes these artifacts? Most of them look to form triangles bisecting the square polys, but I can't figure out what's doing it.

You might try looking at the point normals (display options), or in the spreadsheet.

If the length of the point normal is 0 or, the point normal is pointing in the wrong direction (compared with other polygons), you sometimes get artifacts like this.

You can also try the facet SOP, orient polygons option (then re-compute normals after).
6 posts
I displayed point normals, and didn't see anything. I then displayed primitive normals, and noticed that the normals for the artifacty polygons were in fact pointing the wrong way. Both solutions presented seem to have solved the problem.

Now that I have got it working, I have a lot more questions about each method:

1) I appended a point sop, checked ‘add normal’, and used the following expression to re-orient my inverted normals

if ($NY < 0, -$NY, $NY)
this seems to have worked, but only so long as the geometry doesn't rotate. What is the best way to re-orient my normals so that I can rotate the geometry without reintroducing artifacts?

2) How are primitive normals calculated? Does it follow something like the right hand rule, based on the vertex ordering?