Question about Poly modelling in Houdini

9735   6   2
26 posts
I am new to Houdini and have been enjoying my learning experience so far. I have mostly spent my time though on the infrastructure of the app and learning about its procedural nature.

That said I have not really had a go at the poly modelling tools yet. I am coming from XSI (which I still use and enjoy greatly). Most of what I did in XSI was poly/subd modelling and I found it to be very clean and quick. XSI's toolset for poly modelling isn't quite as exhaustive as say LW or some of the script sets for Maya, but I think its power lies in its simplicity.

Is Houdini's poly modelling tools worth learning given I'm coming from XSI, or am I better off using XSI to build organic poly models and importing that into Houdini? And won't that lose some of the powerful procedural nature of Houdini?

Thanks for any thoughts on this, I just want a slightly better understanding of where Houdini stands on poly modelling before I commit learning time to that aspect of it.
710 posts
I've never used XSI, but Houdini's poly-modeling abilities are very nice. It lacks some things such as select by edge loop or a bevel tool but otherwise it's very solid. Truth be told, proceduralism is not a huge deal in organic modeling (although it comes in handy sometimes). I don't really model with the network in mind, I just model how I'm used to, works fine.
One thing that I like a lot better than modeling in max is the viewport rotation (as in zoom/rotate/pan). At first it seemed unintuitive compared to max's euler style rotation because it's a bit harder to control, but once you get the hang of it, going back just feels too restrictive, as if you can't get a clear view of your model.
Anyways, I would definitly recommend giving Houdini's poly tools a shot and deciding for yourself which you're more comfortable with.
7714 posts