Question about rigging.

9887   7   1
29 posts
Ok, so this is going to be close to impossible for me to explain considering I have no background in rigging but, I'm going to go ahead and give it a try.

I originally created a spline that controls the shape of a geometry. What I want to do now is to set up a rig that will control the spline.

So here's what I have so far… and to simplify things I'm going to use a simple vertical spline with 12 segments. I used the “Bones From Curvature” button on the “Character” tab created 7 bones leading down the spline. That's all I have so far.

What I want now is 4 control points to where I can control the curvature of the set of bones bones. I want the bones to create something like a tail or snake effect to where it's flexible. IN the end I want this to be the backbone of my tornado. Savy?

So where can I go from here? If nobody knows, can someone point me out to a simple tutorial or rigging video? Thanks in advance.
243 posts
I'm not THE expert in rigging, but I know a thing or two… Right now, all this doesn't sound too bad actually, do you have a scene file so people can have a look?
JR Gauthier
Character Animation & Design
www.turboatomic.com
http://www.vimeo.com/user2847970 [vimeo.com]
29 posts
Well, just to keep it simple:

!. Create a curve
2. Resample with 12 segments
3. On the character tab click on “ Bones from curve” and create 12 bones

That's all I have so far. I know that in Maya you can create clusters and in 3ds max, if I'm not mistaken, they're called knots. So what I want to do is to have it were I can make it snake like. That way when I move the bone segments the spline moves along with it to.

I'm sorry if I'm not explaining well but I'm hoping that one can atleast help me out a bit so that I can further my explanation.

p.s. attached is a screenshot of something similar to what I need. I got this screenshot from the internet. I want the bones to do exactly that.

Attachments:
Picture 5.png (119.4 KB)