using animated rest geometry?

4150   7   2
4 posts
Hi all,

Please bear with me if this is something basic, I'm just getting started.

I'm trying to create a simple, floppy, dynamic fish, but I want to be able to animate its tail as well (so it can flop around once on the floor). I assumed the best and/or easiest method for doing this was by animating the rest geometry of the cloth object, but I can't get it to work. I assume the rest geometry is only evaluated at the first simulation frame?

I tried the squishy object route, but that doesn't look remotely right . I'd rather not go the route of building the fish out of smaller RBD blocks with links, if that will work at all. Seems an elastic object approach is the easiest to get looking right, untill you try and keep the poor fish alive.

Any ideas?
thanks,
naam
Staff
2540 posts
Why not use deforming RBDs along with keyframe animated flapping fish?

Have a look at the attached example file. Just enable Deforming Geometry on the RBD Object DOP.

Also had to set Resolve Penetrations to 1.

Attachments:
flappy_fishes_v001.001.hip (113.4 KB)

There's at least one school like the old school!
4 posts
Thanks! Much appreciated, but not exactly what I'm looking for. I want the fish-object to react like a soft body, so the force of a fall could bend its tail, maybe squash a little bit, but still have the fish itself now and then twitch or bend. The problem with using an RBD is that when the fish is motionless, it will look stiff as a plank.

Do you know if it's simply impossible to use an animated rest state?

I'm going to see if the same can be done by using animated springs to act like muscles maybe. Or maybe use a SOP solver? No experience there…

Thanks again!
naam
4 posts