Marble in H11 gives "no image"

8712   10   1
6 posts
Hi

Houdini newbie here. I'm trying out the materials from the material pane and when I got to marble I get no image when I render. It doesn't matter whether I use it by itself or with other materials nor what kind of object I put it on.

Also, can anybody direct me to some tutorials on the VEX.

Thanks
4140 posts
Marble seems busted to me, I've already moaned about it but no response. It's not you. Basically, it takes forever to generate a map pass (which needs optimization) then when it does render it typically looks solid white - the subsurface layer defaults to far too hot. Also, no work has been done yet to put in veins, which I think the typical user expects.
Most of the other shaders are in a reasonable state, though. You just hit a minefield. I really think it should be removed until it's somewhat usable.
Cheers
JC
John Coldrick
6 posts
Thanks for the reply.

I'm trying to build my own simple marble shader. I have one started but I'm stuck trying to figure out how to wire in some reflectivity. I'm finding it hard to translate old tutorials into the new shader model. Nodes that they use aren't present anymore.
4140 posts
It's very different, yes. Really, it's the lighting models that have changed the most. There are, however, new basic shaders that you can start with if you want to roll your own. The official SESI suggestion is to start with a Mantra Surface from the shader gallery, I personally find that too constricted because the moment you want to customize it, you're stuck with all that multi-renderer-compatible crap inside and just becomes messy. It's handy for fast exploring though. What I prefer to do is make a Material Shader Builder, and stuff a surface model VOP inside of that. That gets you a good chunk of the way along. You have two layers of reflectivity you can assign, and there's SSS there. I still need to crack that open to get the speed acceptable for SSS, but it's a good start.

Cheers,