Hair Shader's Specular still broken?

   10035   15   1
User Avatar
Member
249 posts
Joined:
Offline
Hey there.

A while back there was a pretty big discussion about rendering Fur.

One of the things pointed out was the textured_hair shader's Specular tab didnt seem to work.

I've tried it many times and agree i cant get any specular response.

I was wondering if this is still the case or not pr am I using it wrong.

-andrew
blog [abvfx.wordpress.com]tumblr [andrewbrowne.tumblr.com]twitter [twitter.com]
User Avatar
Member
1631 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
still buggy it seems
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib – http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
User Avatar
Member
1332 posts
Joined: March 2020
Offline
yes, i'd love to see a fix for this
plus some optimizations for fur/PBR…

j
HOD fx and lighting @ blackginger
https://vimeo.com/jasonslabber [vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
760 posts
Joined: April 2008
Offline
Try to use “Shade curves as surfaces” on the render/dicing tab on the fur asset.
http://www.vimeo.com/17790588 [www.vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
249 posts
Joined:
Offline
Yea, i still get no response.
blog [abvfx.wordpress.com]tumblr [andrewbrowne.tumblr.com]twitter [twitter.com]
User Avatar
Member
2624 posts
Joined: Aug. 2006
Offline
Has there been a response from Support ?

Rob
Gone fishing
User Avatar
Member
760 posts
Joined: April 2008
Offline
Just trying to help,

Specular worked for me if I render the fur as geometry, have you tried that?
http://www.vimeo.com/17790588 [www.vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
249 posts
Joined:
Offline
Yeah i don't email/bug submit anymore. I'm usually doing something wrong or thats how it was designed/intended.

Edit/ mzigaib i can only find the option you pointed out earlier “Shade curves as surfaces”, which still doesnt work but also changes the look of the fur.

Where is the “render the fur as geometry” option? And could you possibly upload a simple scene of it working?


Cheers
blog [abvfx.wordpress.com]tumblr [andrewbrowne.tumblr.com]twitter [twitter.com]
User Avatar
Member
760 posts
Joined: April 2008
Offline
When you turn on “Shade curves as surfaces” it's exactly what happens.

It changes the looks of the fur because now he is calculating the lighting according to the each fur surface, you get more information on the lighting over the fur inclusive specular.

I believe that you can make you fur looking like however you want, you just have to adjust the Shader.

But yeah if you already have look on your fur before you render as surfaces it's going to be different but like I said you can adjust you fur to make it look like before, just take in consideration the different information that it is calculating now.

I hope it helps.
http://www.vimeo.com/17790588 [www.vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
249 posts
Joined:
Offline
Right, but that really counter intuitive.

I think it works perfect for things like tinsel

http://forums.odforce.net/index.php?/topic/12099-reflective-hair/page__hl__tinsel__fromsearch__1 [forums.odforce.net]

BTW the fur specular VOP isnt broken, the material is either broken or there is a problem in its construction because i can render fur with a specular highlight with a simple (and very limited VOP setup).

Ive tried dozens of ways to rip out whatever is broken in the hair shader but it still doesnt work.
blog [abvfx.wordpress.com]tumblr [andrewbrowne.tumblr.com]twitter [twitter.com]
User Avatar
Member
25 posts
Joined: June 2008
Offline
I ran into this a while ago and sent sidefx my solution but never heard back from them. Maybe I'm doing it wrong but I would disconnect the hairnormal from the hairspec node in the textured-hair material and it seems like it works.

My two cents

Mike
User Avatar
Member
760 posts
Joined: April 2008
Offline
wywait
I ran into this a while ago and sent sidefx my solution but never heard back from them. Maybe I'm doing it wrong but I would disconnect the hairnormal from the hairspec node in the textured-hair material and it seems like it works.

My two cents

Mike

I think you're right! Thanks for the info.

The result I got here is the same than turn on “Shade Curves as Surfaces”.

I didn't compare the render time thou.
http://www.vimeo.com/17790588 [www.vimeo.com]
User Avatar
Member
25 posts
Joined: June 2008
Offline
One other thing. We found that if we rendered the base object as phantom. Then rendered the base object without the fur and comp'd the two together we could cut the render times in half.
User Avatar
Member
249 posts
Joined:
Offline
Yep it does appear to work once the hair_normal is disconnected from the hair_spec.

And yea there are a bunch of hair threads on odforce on rendering fur, the phantom trick is one that i think i will be using quite alot.
blog [abvfx.wordpress.com]tumblr [andrewbrowne.tumblr.com]twitter [twitter.com]
User Avatar
Member
49 posts
Joined: Jan. 2007
Offline
I haven't used houdini in a couple years, and I can't believe I'm being bit by this bug tonight, two years later.

I've tried disconnecting the hair normal and ‘shade as curves’ but I'm still getting nothing :?

–edit–
I was able to work around this by replacing the hairSpec with a regular specular node.
User Avatar
Member
249 posts
Joined:
Offline
You can also use H12 with the new physical Hair model and be happy as a lark.

Cheers SESI
blog [abvfx.wordpress.com]tumblr [andrewbrowne.tumblr.com]twitter [twitter.com]
  • Quick Links