Computer Specs for heavy simulations?

10297   14   0
23 posts
Hi,i'm not new to computer graphics,but I am fairly new to whats going on inside your computer.heh.

Right now I have:

Win7-64bit (recently upgraded)
Intel Core 2 duo
6 GB Ram (recently upgraded from 2gb)
Nvidia Gforce 8600 GT graphics card
ASUS P5W Deluxe motherboard.

I was wondering if this is enough to render millions of particles for short student tests ,15secs maybe (apprentice)

What should I look into for the future,I know I may need to get a whole new setup,if someone can point me in the right direction that would be great.
40 posts
it depends on the scene scale. it may seem that memory is the firts issue, but in my case 160 res of fluid sims, peak mem usage is 11.5 for a second and on avarage it is 7. these are all writing to disc stuff. HDD is the bottleneck in my case. and this is the least priority item for most of the avarage users.
23 posts
so your main hard disk drive should be a priority too,i haven't heard this mentioned so far.

Sounds worth looking into.
575 posts
hdd is can be quite a bottleneck. I'm going to buy a ssd for caching, maybe it helps
martin
23 posts
so a larger hard disk doesn't have to be your main (cdrive?,you can configure software to send information to another drive?

:roll: probably a stupid question,but maybe i AM stupid

also,what is the advantage of SSD?
575 posts
speed

but whenever i check hardware sellers there are a lot of complains about ssd
stop working after some weeks.
257 posts
I think you are better of having more ram. It's not that expensive any more so you can have lots of it. And you will need lots of it too, unless you optimize your scenes like crazy and chop everything up in delayed loads for rendering. But for simming you will reach a limit to the amount of objects/particles a lot quicker.