erge node/ delete history

11894   9   2
19 posts
Hi, Im new to houdini, and this is a newbie question…
just wondering how can I merge redundant nodes like deleting history in maya.
I mean, I was trying to delete couple faces on a poly mesh, by selecting 1 face and hit delete key, Houdini creats a “blast” node, and if I select another face and hit delete again, 1 more blast node is created… by the end of the day, I got a chain of blast nodes in the network. is there a way to merge them together just like deleting history?

thanks
330 posts
hi and welcome ,

i don't know how deleting history works in maya but if you simply want to merge those .. select those and press Shift+C .
except the things that cannot be seen , nothing is like it seems .
330 posts
Another option is to right-click a node, ‘save geometry’ (to .bgeo format) and then re-import with a File sop.
Staff
3455 posts
unlike Maya there is often little need to ‘delete history’ in Houdini - in fact, Houdini's procedural nature makes it unwise to ‘delete history’ at all…

so you have a couple of options:
1 - lock the last node - the red flag
this will lock all your changes into that one node while at the same time allowing you to UNlock the node and go back up the network and make changes

one disadvantage with this is that Houdini will load this SOP into mamory always - even if the object is not displayed/needed
and the hip file size will grow

2 - save out the geometry, then bring it back in with a File SOP
this is the one most people use…and if the object isn't displayed or needed in another object or contaxt then Houdini will not load the file SOP into memory - and the hip file size will not grow…

HTH
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Training Lead
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
7710 posts
More options: