Detailed cracks with Voronoi

27266   9   2
84 posts
Hi, since this is my first post let me introduce myself and thank you all in advance for the great support you give in this forum,

I graduated recently and got a job at a studio in Japan, I used mainly Maya during school but here at work I got the opportunity to play a bit with Houdini and I got completely addicted. I've been doing the tutorials and reading this forum for a month or so and I love it. Probably you'll be hearing a lot more of my newbee questions from now on, and hopefully I'll be able to contribute in some way too.

Now, to my question.

How can I create detailed cracks on a voronoi cracked surface?.

I"ve been playing around with destruction and breaking stuff with Voronoi, and what I can't manage to do is to get nice jagged cracks. I have tried the next:

-Playing with the Interior Detail on the Voronoi Fracture node (or fractureParams inside the AutoDop when use Make Breakable from shelf). This daes give me good detail on the inner parts but the cracks on the surface continue to be straight since the noise is not applied there. I also tried changing the clamp noise ramp so the noise whoud reach to the surface but that ends up messing with the original shape.

-I also did the Digital Tutors tutorial on Voronoi fracturing, the last chapter shows how to set up a noise displacement on a fractured surface with VOP material so that the cracks deform in a way they coincide when the pieces are together. I thought this was exactly what I was looking for, except that in the tutorial they deform the complete shape with the noise, and I just want to apply it to the inside and the shape of the crack itself without messing with the surface shape itself.