Generate points/path programmatically in a network?

3088   9   2
12 posts
Hi,
I'm new to Houdini and searching didn't yield an answer to my question.

After watching the Pipes & Hoses tutorial, I'm trying to generate simple tubular handrails for some geometric platforms. I know where the rail anchors go, and the path is a simple 3 segment “U” shape and I'd like to be able to generate these points/path in my network rather than drawing the curve or loading it from disk. Once I have the path, I can do a sweep to form the rail.

Is this possible?

Thanks!
Brett
Staff
2540 posts
You can use the Add SOP to add points and then connect them in order to build your curve.

Add SOP can also be used to create curves from input points.

Many times you can isolate unshared edges to generate profiles as well. That you can do with either a Group SOP>select unshared edges in to an edge group followed by Blast or the Delete SOP.
There's at least one school like the old school!
12 posts
Thanks Jeff! That got me moving and I got it working the way I want.

I created my points, and then fed this into a curve and tried to sweep a circle with it but it looks like I'm doing something wrong on my curve. I have attached a screenshot and I can see the 4 points okay but the sweep didn't work and I assume it's because they're points and not forming a curve?

Attachments:
Curve-Sweep Problem.jpg (213.7 KB)

12 posts
Looking at this more I see that the input is not a set of points but rather snapping points.

So instead I tried to put an expression into where the points should go and that doesn't seem to work either. I'm guessing I can't use a channel directly like this where the points are normally specified?

ch(“../left_rail/points”)

Is there some way to get the points out of the Add SOP and into the points field of the Curve SOP?

Attachments:
Points into Curve.jpg (45.8 KB)

184 posts
Hey Brett,