Modelling: Detailing walls on a round interior

6807   26   1
16 posts
So I'm pretty new at Houdini, but I absolutely love it's network driven approach. Makes me feel super safe that I can never screw anything up too bad that I can't go back in time and fix…

Anyway, as an experiment I built a neat little tube by first creating a Curve, mirrored it, then using a Revolve to spin it around. The result is a rather neat looking round interior (think Star Trek).

So this shot is positioned within the tube. Now I want to decorate the inside. At this point I'm looking for advice on best practices. One thought I had would be to build a template wall with tubes and decals on it, then copy to points along the inside. Not sure though. I don't want EVERY wall to look exactly the same either, so this approach may need several slightly different templates (tag to different point groups).

I feel like I'm missing a convenient method of doing this that you pro's already know?

I must say it's rather tricky working at this view as I need to guide the camera within the tube itself, and make sure my pivot is reset once I get a good view, so that I can look around properly. Would be so cool to have a “Walk” mode like Sketchup has.

Thank you!
Staff
3456 posts
try something like this
I make a curve (just a circle in this case)
and a camera

I added a null and parented the camera to it
then I put the curve into the Path Object of the null
so now you can adjust the position parameter and the camera will move along the curve
I added the offset null so that the camera would still be free to pan/tilt etc

Attachments:
camera_path.hip (85.4 KB)

Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Training Lead
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
16 posts
Nice trick! Thanks for that! I suppose then when I'm modelling structures the best thing to do is build a few camera rails to test with?