A few modeling questions

5252   8   2
32 posts
Hi,

I'm new to houdini, trying to get my head around the modeling tools. Got a few questions which I haven't been able to figure out. Searched both odforce and this forum for answers but can't find anything that makes sense to me.

Started on a simple modeling project and aim to go thru the various steps it entails, problem is I'm stuck after 1 hour!

Anyway, questions number 1. I'm trying to trace a blueprint to create splines to build from. How do I break a point into individual tangent lines? So I have a tangent handle on each side of the point? Am I supposed to lay down segments instead and then fuse them togheter to create a spline which correctly represents my blueprint shape, i.e. has hard breaks in the curve? I guess what I'm looking for is a way to use the curve sop like I did in max; create a few points on a segment for the rough shape and then start editing the bezier handles to get a closer match.

On to question number 2. Beveling a text shape… yikes, I can't for the life of me understand how to do this, unless I really go in and build it step-by-step, which is a bit of a pain for something that simple. If I use the polybevel sop, it does correctly inset my edges, but it does not extrude them at all, only inset. Am I supposed to add another transform sop and manually move the inset polys out? Also, if I do that the only way I can get the insets to behave is to switch it over to absolute, but then I get overlapping faces in corners and edges…

Hope someone can give me some pointers on the above questions, I'm sure it's either me missing something or perhaps I'm just spoilt by max “one-click-tools”…

Cheers,

Peter
32 posts
Ok, as usual when u post something the answer is just around the corner. I figured out the tangent handles…if I add a edit sop after the curve, and switch on the point display, I do get tangent controls…

I'm still stuck on the bevel tho

Peter.
330 posts