How do you achieve this effect?

6324   18   3
57 posts
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQ9HogEWcT0 [youtube.com]
0:07 - 0:15 second

So I'm curious as of how they created this effect and wish to replicate it in Houdini, but I'm still a novice in Houdini.

I was thinking something along the line example:
1. Create a test geometry PigHead
2. & to create irregular point within the Pighead.

3. Force all the points position to shift to a single point position? example Point 001
4. Then add in velocity to move them around or back to their original position?

So how do I achieve step 3-4 in this case?

Any help would be appreciated!
Just a student learning Houdini
253 posts
I've done this with particles.

- Make particles flow through the surface ( double cross product technique )
- Make each particle leave a trail
- With add sop connect this trails based on some custom attribute
- Apply poly wire sop
57 posts
How do you do the “- Make particles flow through the surface ( double cross product technique )”?
Any possible example or hip file to look at?
253 posts
- Shoot your particles toward the surface
- Take the particle's velocity, cross it with the surface normal, cross the result with the normal again, call this resulting vector “flow”, all this normalized.
- Call the ( closest pos on the surface ) minus ( the particle's position ) “tow”
- Make your force ( flow+tow ) * someMultiplier
- Make the particle lose velocity, something like this v@v *= 0.8;

I'll find some time tomorrow to make a hip file if you have trouble.
Edited by A-OC - Dec. 27, 2016 03:50:43
57 posts
Having trouble understanding this part
“- Take the particle's velocity, cross it with the surface normal, cross the result with the normal again, call this resulting vector “flow”, all this normalized.
- Call the ( closest pos on the surface ) minus ( the particle's position ) “tow”
- Make your force ( flow+tow ) * someMultiplier”

Would be great if you can spare some time to make the hip file tomorrow.