How to draw splines with curves AND corners?

4357   6   3
2 posts
Hello. Absolute beginner question, I apologize, but I simply don't get it. How is it possible in Houdini to draw splines with curves AND corners? As far as I can see I can choose between polygon mode (just corners) or nurbs and bezier (just curves). But I need to combine both in a single spline to be able to draw what I want.
1743 posts
I seem to recall that Bezier curves in Houdini can represent multiple connected Bezier curves, so if you have an order-4 (cubic) Bezier curve, vertices 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, … (where the first vertex is 0), can be corners if it, the vertex before, and the vertex after aren't all in a straight line.

For a subdivision curve (like a subdivision surface, but for polygon curves) or an order-4 (cubic) NURBS curve, you can also do it by repeating the same point position 3 times to make a corner. You can turn on viewport display of polygons as subdivision surfaces/curves by pressing +(it might or might not need the Shift key) and turn it off by pressing -. There are separate options at the object level for subdivision surfaces and curves in Mantra.

Hopefully that's what you were looking for.
Writing code for fun and profit since... 2005? Wow, I'm getting old.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_HFmdvpe9U2G3OMNViKMEQ [www.youtube.com]
4189 posts
nigromontanus
Hello. Absolute beginner question, I apologize, but I simply don't get it. How is it possible in Houdini to draw splines with curves AND corners? As far as I can see I can choose between polygon mode (just corners) or nurbs and bezier (just curves). But I need to combine both in a single spline to be able to draw what I want.

You can't. It will hopefully come in H17 next year.
Edited by anon_user_37409885 - Nov. 5, 2017 23:20:30
8581 posts