visualizer with a shortcut

   354   11   4
User Avatar
Member
371 posts
Joined:
Offline
Testing out the new network customization tools [www.sidefx.com] with attaching a shortcut to create a visualizer.

Drop nodegraphhooks.py file in $HOME/houdini16.5/python2.7libs/ select a sop node with an attribute other than P and press shift-x.
Edited by kahuna031 - Jan. 27, 2018 10:32:15

Attachments:
visualizerHotkey_01.gif (485.7 KB)
nodegraphhooks.py (3.6 KB)

B.Henriksson, DICE
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: Feb. 2017
Online
Thanks a lot!
this is super handy!
Cheers
CYTE
Edited by CYTE - Jan. 23, 2018 06:00:22
User Avatar
Member
193 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
do you have to assign the shortcut or something?
I cant make it work.
User Avatar
Member
371 posts
Joined:
Offline
Nothing else needed than H16.5. Have you assigned shift-x to something else? Changed your python environment somehow? If you type this in a python terminal you can test if the file is accessed:
import nodegraphhooks
reload(nodegraphhooks)
Edited by kahuna031 - Jan. 25, 2018 01:17:06
B.Henriksson, DICE
User Avatar
Member
193 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
I might be doing something wrong then

Attachments:
01.PNG (89.3 KB)

User Avatar
Member
193 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
this is my shortcuts

Attachments:
02.PNG (70.2 KB)

User Avatar
Member
371 posts
Joined:
Offline
Put it in C:\Users\'your user name'\Documents\houdini16.5\python2.7libs
Your hotkey setup looks identical to mine.
B.Henriksson, DICE
User Avatar
Member
193 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
thank you, that works

viewport doesnt update, but toggling visualization icon, does the trick

Very handy script
User Avatar
Member
193 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
what about adding list box, if attribute should show up as vectors or numbers?
User Avatar
Member
371 posts
Joined:
Offline
martinkindl83
viewport doesnt update, but toggling visualization icon, does the trick
That's a Houdini bug. I got that and other display issues when creating visualizers through the gui too.
martinkindl83
what about adding list box, if attribute should show up as vectors or numbers?
Yeah, would be nice with options for that. Problem is, then I need to write my custom gui and that might not update very well between Houdini versions. Another solution would be to bring up the settings window for the visualizer but I don't know if that's possible.

For now I'll change it so that it defaults to text if it's not a vector attribute.
B.Henriksson, DICE
User Avatar
Member
193 posts
Joined: Nov. 2014
Offline
Thank you for explanation.
Makes total sense about the custom gui. Defaults you suggested sounds good.
User Avatar
Member
371 posts
Joined:
Offline
martinkindl83
Defaults you suggested sounds good.
I updated the original attachment to have this.
B.Henriksson, DICE
  • Quick Links