Grouping UVs for UV Layout?

2214   7   2
10 posts
Hi guys, I've been using Houdini for a couple of months now and I am modeling a cockpit of a plane for a game and I have an issue.

There are many objects in the cockpit which can share the same texture, for example a knob, which is used 20 times around the cockpit and in order to save space on the texture, I want all of these knobs to have overlaying UVs.

My workflow: I create an object (for example the knob), UV flatten it and then I use a Copy and Transform to make 10 copies of it. At this point the UVs are still at the same place.

However, once I use the UV Layout at the end of my network, (understandably) all the knob UVs get separated and positioned individually in the UV viewport.

So my question is, is there a way to keep the UVs of certain objects always together even if I use the UV layout?

I have attached an example file with the knob.

Attachments:
Test_Knob.hipnc (82.0 KB)

483 posts
Hmmm, maybe merge / uv-layout only the single objects together and then create the copies?
Edited by matthias_k - Feb. 9, 2018 01:36:40

Attachments:
Test_Knob_001.hipnc (98.3 KB)

English is not my native language, sorry in advance for any misunderstanding :-)
10 posts
Hi MAtthias, thanks for oyur answer! Well I have dozens (maybe even hundreds) of these objects that would share their same textures and the network is gigantic so i need to do it down the network just so it all makes sense. The knobs all belong to a specific panel and if I need to move those panels they need to stay there.

Could there be any other solution?

I was thinking of grouping all of the objects that are copied and transformed in the network, and then using the UV layout on everything except those groups, and after that I would have to position those grouped UVs manually and individually in the UV viewport. But this is obviously not procedural so I was hoping of hetting a better way of doing it.
Edited by mrkmmvl - Feb. 9, 2018 03:20:27
483 posts