I am confused about Houdini! Need Help.

8797   9   0
107 posts
Hi,
I would like to ask a question. I am a broadcast designer (student). I have graduated two years ago… So I am still (probably will be for a long time) an amateur. I am using tools like Maya and AE in my workflow to create 2D and 3D graphic elements. I have graduated from a VCD (Visual Communication Design) department. So I have a design focused education. At this point I decied to get deeper and applied to an MA programme on Digital Effects. I got accepted.

I know that they are going to teach Houdini. I am very new to this community and have never seen or used Houdini before. I have heard lots of scary things about the software… Things like: You have to be a coder! You have to be a techincal guy (Good knowledge of Physics, Hardcore Math!) etc.

So now I would like to ask you: Do you think Houdini is too much for a motion designer with a “design” background and has never been involved in programming etc. ?

I do not plan to work on advanced CGI, Hollywood style FX projects. But I want to improve my animation skills and bring some new aproaches into my motion graphics workflow.

I know the software is hard to learn. But is it really so much technical? Is there a chance for a person with basic 3D/2D skills to get a new point of view? Or is it only for TD guys with hardcore math + coding skills?

Thanks.
Live life in chunks.
2199 posts
If you browse this forum I think you will find this discussion has happen many times before.
But just to pick up on one of your points, do you need to be a coder, well one of the main reasons for using houdini is to do things visually that you would otherwise have to do in code. I think the question you should ask yourself is “do I want to learn how to do things in a procedural and logical way”. And “do I want to learn houdini's way of doing these things without writing code”.