Houdini Python help

3445   4   2
51 posts
Hello, I'm pretty new to scripting with Python in Houdini and I'm trying to learn it a bit in my free time.
I decided to start with a alembic expand shelf tool, since is one of the thing that I have do the most in Houdini. This is what I got until now

#Alembic name
#Create null
abc=hou.node(“/obj/env”)
resize = hou.node(“obj”).createNode(“null”, node_name=“RESIZE”)
abc.setInput (0,resize)
hou.node(“obj”).layoutChildren()
abc.setDisplayFlag(False)

#Create empty geo node:
destination = hou.node(“obj”).createNode(“geo”, node_name=“destination”)
destination.moveToGoodPosition()

#Create merge node and null
merge = hou.node(“obj/destination/”).createNode(“merge”)
null = hou.node(“obj/destination/”).createNode(“null”, “OUT”)
merge.outputConnectors()
null.setInput (0,merge)
null.setDisplayFlag(True)
null.setRenderFlag(True)

#Get all alembic archive nodes at object level and put them in to a list (in case there is more than one alembic imported)(i=/obj/alembicname):
alembic_archives =
for i in hou.node(“obj”).children():
if i.type().name()==“alembicarchive”:
alembic_archives.append(i)

#Create object merge node
alembic_nodes=
count=0
for n in alembic_archives:
for x in n.allSubChildren():
if x.type().name()==“geo”:
obj_merge = hou.node(“obj/destination/”).createNode(“object_merge”)
obj_merge.parm(“xformtype”).set(“local”)
unpck = hou.node(“obj/destination/”).createNode(“unpack”)
unpck.setInput (0,obj_merge)
alembic_nodes.append(x)

#Move the display flag and move into a good position
for i in hou.node(“obj/destination/”).children():
if i.type().name()==“unpack”:
merge.setNextInput(i)

#Layout node
hou.node(“obj/destination/”).layoutChildren()