Questions about Subnet Node in Houdini

15261   15   5
7 posts
Hi everyone!

I am studying the subnet node right now. Here i have some questions about it. Hope you guys can give me a hand. Thank you!

After the subnet being created, how can i add other nodes into it or move the inside nodes out at different levels? I mean that the functions of the subnet willnot be affected by doing this way.

Another question is that how to dismiss the subnet and relieve the inside nodes? And i am not sure whether the subnet can be dismissed or the inside nodes can be relieved.

The last question is: If the Digital Assets have been created, can i take the above steps?
Staff
2540 posts
After the subnet being created, how can i add other nodes into it or move the inside nodes out at different levels? I mean that the functions of the subnet willnot be affected by doing this way.

To add operators inside the subnet, you dive in to it. Select and hit enter or i for in, RMB Menu >Edit Subnet or use the path at the top of the network pane and hit the -> with the subnet node selected.

To dive up a level out of the subnet, just hit the u key or again use the path navigator.

Another question is that how to dismiss the subnet and relieve the inside nodes? And i am not sure whether the subnet can be dismissed or the inside nodes can be relieved.

There is a menu option right on the subnet node. RMB menu > Extract Contents.

If the Digital Assets have been created, can i take the above steps?

Yes, you need to unlock the Asset first. Again MMB menu > Allow Editing Of Contents followed with the RMB menu > Extract Contents.
There's at least one school like the old school!
30 posts
I have the same question that I will try to put in my own words.

How can I move an existing object from root level to an existing subnetwork while maintaining dependencies (expressions on parameters for example).